I Want, I Want!

What do you want? Is it true that we should be able to have what we want if we have worked hard for it? Maybe we think that we deserve something for a situation that we have been through. What do we do if we don’t get what we want, how does it make us feel?

LP is at the ‘I want, I want’ and ‘mine’ stage. He’s driving me nuts. It is pretty much one of the first words out of his mouth in the morning, then I get to hear it a lot throughout the day. He squawks it at me, and shouts and screams, and smacks, and if BB has something that he wants, then we are in for some real drama. LP is fierce. Most children that I know have been or are going through this. It’s how they learn they can’t get everything that they always want. Life doesn’t work like that.

These days we are surrounded by so much, if we want something, generally we can get it. We can search for ideas and inspiration easily. We want our houses to look nice, drive nice cars, own the latest tech, have nice clothes, eat out, get the latest toys for our children, take them to nice places, go on lovely holidays, and so on.

I struggle with this, especially at a time where our income is probably at its lowest (and that was our choice). I find that being at home makes this more difficult. I look around and can see what needs to be fixed or made better, or more to the point, what I would like.

I am challenged by this, and need to be reminded about what does God says. When I am in a little self pitying mood, I am reminded of what we have been blessed with. That is what’s important here, our heart attitude. I always think this sounds a little cheesy but it’s about having an attitude of gratitude. I think that it’s important that this is what we teach our children.

I’m not saying that we can’t have nice things, or that it is wrong to want things, more that it is about the attitude that goes alongside it. Being grateful and appreciative and blessing others is important, and that is what we want our boys to learn.

The Pramshed
2 thoughts on “I Want, I Want!

  1. I completely know what you mean about the “I want” thing, the little one is at a stage where everything is “mine” or “more”. It’s really annoying and I’m finding it pretty so destroying. It’s kind of the same thing where I want “more” of a nicer and tidier house. Great post, and I hope that the “I want” phase passes soon. Thanks so much for linking up at #fortheloveofBLOG. Claire x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

