Mothers Day

I know Mother’s Day was over a week ago, however I still wanted to share this with you.

This Mother’s Day, I had been asked to give an encouragement and pray for all the ladies at church. When I was asked, I can’t exactly say I was overjoyed. The first thought that ran through my head was one of fear. It meant I would have to stand in front of everyone and actually speak! This is not my favourite thing to do. To say I agonised over whether to do this, is a bit of an understatement. I was properly out of my comfort zone. In fact, I got home and cried, because I felt so scared. *rolls eyes*

After a week of trying to decide, I said I would do it, and felt much better about it as I had written something down. For some people, standing up and talking in front of others for 5 minutes is easy, I felt foolish for getting so worked up about it, and kept praying that God would give me the right words to say, and that all the ladies regardless of their circumstances would find the words encouraging.

I have included my encouragement and prayer below.

Mothers Day Encouragement

How does Mother’s day make you feel?  

We all have a Mother, or another Woman in our lives that took on that role, and dependent on our relationship with our Mums, we will have a different answer. 

I want you to think of an encouragement that your Mum or the person that you think of as a Mum,  gave to you, taught you, or inspired you with. Even if you think it doesn’t seem much, it is significant to you, and therefore has had an impact and influence on your life. 

God thinks Mothers are important. A Christian Mother is told to Love her children. There are several things that a Mother is commanded to do in God’s word. 

Be available  
Be involved 
Teach
Train 
Discipline 
Nurture 

Whilst our biological Mums are important, if they were not around, then other Women in our lives may have stepped into that role, or these Women may have come alongside your Mums as a support. 

Sisters 
Aunty’s 
Grandmothers 
Foster Mums 
Friends 

All you Ladies have an important role to play. You are valued. 

Mother’s Day Prayer

“Father we want to thank you for our Mums, and for all those Women who have played an important role in our lives. Thank you for putting them in just the right place at just the right time.  

Thank you Lord for all the things our Mums do and have done for us. For the things that we never even realised. For all those times we felt that our Mums didn’t understand, but they knew only too well what we were going through. For their wisdom, and for their strength. When their hearts ached for us in a way that only you could understand Lord. 

I pray for your blessing on all the ladies, that they would know their value in you Lord Jesus. 

Amen” 

When I spoke, I changed some of the wording slightly, but it was pretty much as written above. I really wanted to let all the ladies know how important they were. That whether you have birthed a child or not, you are important and influential. That you can still Mother. We have all had different experiences, and these are invaluable to those around us.

Most importantly I felt God speaking to me on this. These words are not mine, I felt God prompting me to write this. I could not have done this in my own strength, in fact I would have faltered and run in the other direction.

I hope you will find encouragement in this. Thank you for reading.

Source: http://www.gotquestions.org

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

