My Testimony

I had a dream, literally I dreamt about my salvation. God can do that, just give you something when you least expect it. I knew it was from God, I wasn’t a Christian then, but the dream was so vivid, rich in detail, personal to me and I remember it so well. I had this dream just before I gave my life to Jesus.

My dream involved my great friend, who even before I became a Christian was there for me. She possesses great wisdom, and a gift to get right to the heart of the matter, she’s the kind of person you can have a real conversation with.

In my dream we had been out for a night of clubbing, (I actually used to get that opportunity) the nightclub was in a familiar setting where we live. In reality there was no such place. The club was underground, and I remember that fire was coming up through grates in the ground of the club. My friend took my hand and led me out of the club, up some steps that led back on to the street, she then led me up a hill. When we got to the top, there was a choice for me to make, a big gap was in the road, and I had to decide whether to jump across to the other side (underneath cars were driving past which meant I would fall and get hurt if I didn’t successfully make the leap). I made the leap, and on getting across, turned to look back over the town, where a big fireworks display was taking place. There were some familiar faces in the crowd of people watching the display with me. After the display we continued to walk and came to some beautiful gardens where a big party was taking place, and in the gardens was a stairway up into the sky.

When I dreamt this, I wasn’t quite sure what it meant, it seems so obvious to me now, but at that time it wasn’t. I think I told J about it, but I wrote it down and remembered it. A month or so later I was at my friends house for a party and she gave me this scripture just as me and J were leaving.

1 Kings 18:21 (ESV) ‘And Elijah came near to the people and said, “how long will you go limping between two different opinions? If the Lord is God follow him; but if Baal, then follow him.” And the people did not answer him a word.’

She explained it to me and said that I needed to make a decision. The following morning I went to church with J. This was not common practice for me me at that time.

Some background

J became a Christian before me, it was kind of like a domino effect, other members of his family had already made this step, and the dominos were heading fast in my direction. I thought everyone was crazy. I loved J, and we had been through a lot in the 8 years we had been together, but suddenly I was afraid of the future. I often wondered who all these strange Christians were. I had experienced going to church, but I felt uncomfortable, like I was being watched. I thought I might get pounced on!

Me and J had met when we 18 at art college, neither of us Christian. We met a guy there who we couldn’t really fathom, he was like no one we had met before, full of joy and very charismatic and he also had some really questionable humour. He is J’s best friend and was best man at our wedding. We quickly discovered he was a Christian, though we didn’t really get it, but respected him.

To cut a long story short our friend met a wonderful woman, who became his wife, (the friend in my dream) and they have been instrumental in our lives.

Back to the story…

Now I’m the kind of person that needs to know that I’m making my own mind up, that I’m not being swayed by other people opinions. Just because J and his family and our friends were Christians didn’t make it a straightforward decision for me. I fought to be in control at this time, and insisted that if I was going to go to church if needed to be somewhere that I wasn’t known. This didn’t happen, I can’t actually remember but I must of plucked up the courage and started attending the church that J had been going to along with his family, where I didn’t know many people, but they knew who I was. (This is the same church I still attend today).

The day after I had been given the scripture, we were to have a different preacher at church. We knew him, through our friends, but this was the one and only time he ever preached at our church. He started by saying that he had something else planned, but felt he needed to change what he was going to say. He spoke on how he did not feel used by God and that he was unsure of his purpose. On this day he specifically spoke about making a choice, that we were not to sit on the fence. I could feel my heart racing, what he was saying resonated with me, it fitted with the scripture I had received the night before. When he had finished he asked people to bow their heads and asked that if anyone wanted to respond to raise their hand. I did this whilst crying. I felt incredibly self conscious, but knew I had to do it. I spoke to him afterwards and he prayed for me, and that was the day I committed to leading a new life. Little did I realise that was the easy part, now life was going to become a lot more challenging.

I have since looked back on my dream and realise that my friend leading me out of the club up some steps was a representation of me being led away from a life going in the wrong direction. That in her giving me the scripture she was helping to lead me up that hill. The leap, was a leap of faith, sure I could have fallen, but I didn’t, I put my hand up and responded to the word of God. The fireworks display and party show that there was a celebration over me, that there was rejoicing in heaven. As for the familiar faces, some are now Christians, others are people from my past, who I no longer know, but perhaps I will see again?

There is so much more I could write, when I look back I can really see how God has worked everything out in my life, I just didn’t realise it at the time.

Diary of an imperfect mum
The Pramshed
13 thoughts on “My Testimony

  1. I love to read testimonies! It is wonderful to see how God works in people’s lives.

    I have a verse which I hold close to my heart too – “Do not be afraid for I have redeemed you. I have called you by your name. You are mine.” Isaiah 43:1.

    Someone left it on my parents’ windscreen at the hospital while my mum was in labour with me. Throughout my life, different people have sent that verse to me at critical times (without knowing the history) – each time God has laid that particular verse on their hearts for me. God is very real and He is active and powerful. He calls to us when we’re far from him and we need to listen and follow. Thank you for sharing your story #ablogginggoodtime

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks Lucy, that’s such a great verse, I love how God works all things out in our lives, I was a bit nervous about posting this, and the reactions or non reactions of people. When I read your comment, it really made me smile. Thank you for reading and commenting xxx

    Like

  3. Having been raised in a Jewish household I have found myself being pulled towards a church local to us and we ended up getting married there and Ben is to be Christianed there too! Although I wouldnt call myself religious, I have an appreciation for all religions and am very happy with the new religion I have found. Thank you for sharing your experience. #ablogginggoodtime

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s good to hear that you have found a church that you are happy with. It sounds like a big part of your life with your wedding and then Ben’s christening to come. Personally, faith for me is about a relationship with Jesus so I would say I’m not religious either. (If that make sense). Thanks so much for reading and commenting xx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. It is interesting hearing how you found your way, and after reading the hosts blog about positivity it’s very closely linked to that. Im so glad you have found the right path for you in life x #blogstravaganza

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

