Crohns Flare

Happy New Year! I decided to have a little blogging  break over Christmas. To be honest there was so much going on that I didn’t have a chance to get any of it written down. For the most part we had a great time, and enjoyed some lovely family time, and got to catch up with friends. I am so grateful for this, because for one moment I thought it may not happen.

J had a crohns flare up just before Christmas. He was due to have a couple of weeks off, however just before this, he started to have stomach pains, and his bowels weren’t working properly. We decided he should just go straight to A&E, none of this 111 business. When he got there, they decided to keep him in and monitor him, and for a few days his pain just got worse. He was moved around, and no one really seemed to be able to tell us much. The worse thing was that the surgical team kept popping up to see him. J has had so many surgeries that as far as they possibly can they really want to avoid any further intervention. The Saturday before the Christmas week, things were not looking too good, J had to have a nasal tube inserted into his stomach to help relieve the pressure in his bowels, I’m not going to go into details, but needless to say it wasn’t very nice. I was starting to feel more worried, what if J needed surgery, what if he wasn’t home for Christmas, how would that impact the boys, what if he couldn’t cope with the surgery. Too many what ifs.

From a faith point of view I had text and contacted as many people as I could to pray for J, keeping them updated. I seem to have this default setting, where it’s the first thing I do. Don’t get me wrong, I am a firm believer in the power of prayer, but J brought up something that made me think about the way I go about doing this.

Some of you may know the story of Martha and Mary from Luke 10: 38-42 . Martha was all about the doing, while Mary just wanted to spend her time with Jesus, the other things could wait. I certainly have a trait to be more like Martha. I was a little grumpy that J had brought it up, but he was so right. Sometimes, when things get too much I make myself busy doing things, I can control those things, it makes me feel better. What I need to do is lean into God more remembering to trust that he has everything in hand.

J was put on a neuro ward due to a hospital bed crisis. The nurses were great, but they are not used to dealing with a gastro patient. Actually J had some prayer time with a nurse, that asked him if he believed in God. The ward also had a physio working on it that we know from another church. It’s amazing that whilst we thought that J needed to be on another ward, God had put him in just the right place with the right people to care for him. The ward was full of people that may have suffered from brain injuries or strokes. There was a 21 year old boy a few beds down who had been in a car accident. He had been give a 1-2% chance of survival. 8 weeks later he was on this ward, not paralysed, but with diminished brain function. Chatting with his Mum and seeing his family and friends come to see him, whilst he couldn’t really communicate was heartbreaking. Experiences like this are extremely humbling.

During this time BB had also been asking me when Daddy was coming home, I couldn’t answer him, I didn’t know, but I told BB that God knew and he could pray asking him to get his Daddy home for Christmas. BB prayed a great prayer, really simple and to the point, I love that about kids.

J started to respond to the steroids that he was being given, he had an obstruction in his bowel, most likely some inflammation. Sorry if this is tmi, but we have never both been so happy to see a Poo! We asked people to pray for poo, and it happened!  It was a sure sign that J’s bowels were starting to work again. We went from not knowing if J was going to be in hospital for Christmas on the Saturday, to knowing that he was going to be coming home, and not because the Doctors or nurses had told us at this stage, but because we felt it. He came home on the Tuesday before Christmas.

On the Saturday night after J had turned a corner, we had our carol service at church. We sang Holy Night, which is a favourite of mine. These words in the song really spoke to me.

‘In all our trials born to be our friends.
He knows our need, our weakness is no stranger.’

This is something which has really impacted me. God knows our needs before we even ask him, Matthew 6:8.

Through all the trials we suffer in our lives, and we will, Jesus was born to be our friend.

I am constantly amazed by what God continues to do in our lives. He shows us time and time again that he’s got everything under control, and yet I still think I need to sort out the stuff that comes my way. *rolls eyes*

Since this time J has had to start a low residue diet, we are not too sure how long this needs to be for. He’s doing well and is largely back to himself. He will see his physician soon to discuss the next course of action if any is needed.

Crohns is horrible, and rubbish, and a few other words I could think of. We certainly don’t know what our future will hold, but our faith certainly pulls us through.

Hebrews 11:1 (NLT) Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see.

 

Diary of an imperfect mum
Mummuddlingthrough
2 thoughts on “Crohns Flare

Leave a Reply

