Santa?

I am having a slight dilemma. I am not opposed to BB seeing Santa, we took him last year when we went to Center Parcs. He is excited and has been speaking about Santa. We recently went to a local country park where he saw a sleigh advertising Santa, and decided that was where he wanted to go. However on further investigation the said venue was extornionate, with a ridiculous price for children and adults.

I have since been researching and found a few cheaper places, but they are still not that cheap, and unless you book them up quick,  you haven’t got that much chance of seeing Santa.

BB is 5, but he is aware that there are plenty of people around who are dressed as Santa. However he totally believes that Santa will bring him all of the 30 ish presents on his Christmas list. I explained that he would not get all his presents, to which he replied ‘it’s ok Mummy, it’s my Christmas list, Santa will get them’ *rolls eyes.*

Now we haven’t spoken about Santa a lot, it’s just something that BB knows about, especially now he’s at school. Kids talk. The Santa debate also brings up the issue of lying to our children. This may seem over the top, but in line with what we believe, whether we deem it a little white lie, it’s still a lie, and that’s not cool. Some of my friends for this reason make sure they tell their children the truth about Santa, other friends would not see it as a problem.

I saw Santa when I was little. I remember finding out that he wasn’t real in primary school, maybe I was around 7 or 8, and one of those know it all type of friends was shouting it out across the playground. Actually I wasn’t particularly phased by it and even though I knew Santa wasn’t real, I still enjoyed the Christmas stocking and all the things that are associated with Santa.

In reality seeing Santa wasn’t always that great, as happens he would ask what I wanted for Christmas, to which I would reply that I liked drawing. To be honest I remember getting a Betty Boop drawing set which I wasn’t that impressed with. The toys are never that great. Also when I was really young, Santa made me cry. My mum recalls this with great joy. I always remark that I was young and he was a big man dressed in a bright red suit. I think that can be quite scary for a small child. Seriously.

Now LP is 21 months, but I definitely don’t want to take him to see Santa. I feel pretty certain that he would cry, or just pull Santa’s beard off! It’s not worth the cost.

Then there is that part of me that doesn’t want BB to miss out, but we could spend our money on better experiences for him. I have already found a few good ones, that I think he would really remember including a Snowman theatre experience. Santa is also arriving on a boat (like he does) close to where we live, so we could go and see that, (with hundreds of other people), but still is the one to one worth it?

The reality is though, that Christmas is not about Santa or the presents, it’s not the reason we celebrate. Millions of people across the world are celebrating the birth of Jesus. That is the most important thing.

A week or so from writing this, I asked BB if he wanted to see Santa, in all honesty he wasn’t bothered. So I’m taking him for a different experience, and am not going to feel guilty for not seeing Santa! I realised in all this, I was really thinking about what I wanted for him, not what he would really like.

I have a few questions for you to think about and I would love to hear your responses, please drop me a comment.

What is Christmas about for  you? Do you put pressure on yourself to conform?

What are your Santa experiences, what are you doing this year and what do you think of the cost?

Do you feel like you are lying to your children, if they asked you outright about Santa, would you tell them?

Diary of an imperfect mum

6 thoughts on “Santa?

  1. Wow, great article! I have been thinking a lot about this recently myself. I have been wondering whether, when our eldest finds out that Santa is a lie, he will make the same conclusion about God. It’s a very tricky thing to negotiate, and I just present Father Christmas as a fact but never go to great lengths to convince the kids. When they are old enough to ask outright whether he is real I won’t lie to them.
    As for the cost of a santa visit, I agree that it’s ridiculous! Fortunately, our church always has a visit after our nativity performance (free of charge) and I always tell the kids they can only go to see him once a year. I think our children will grow up and remember the wonder of Christmas, and hopefully not the trauma of being lied to and missing out on material possessions they are taught to covet!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your lovely comment Hannah. I think that’s right, not going over the top about Santa is important, and remembering to teach our children what Christmas is really about is the best thing. It is a wonderful time of year, and I definitely want both boys to appreciate this. xx

      Like

  2. This is really interesting because Christmas for me is not so much about the religious aspect as I am muslim. However I love to take part in the elaboration because it’s fun. I love the feel of this festive period and really want my children to be able to enjoy it. So we put the christmas tree up together and play christmas songs and it was fun. My daughter has been to see santa at a grotto but was a bit frightened. I don’t really know if she thinks he is real or not as she is a bit young but i don’t think I will bring her up to let her think he is real. I treat him like a character just like any other and if my daughter asked me if he was real I would probably tell her the truth. I also love the fact that everyone gets time off around christmas so it automatically gives you time to spend with your family when you might not get this chance at other times in the year.

    Amina xx | http://www.AliandHer.com #ablogginggoodtime

    Liked by 1 person

  3. All good questions, all tough to answer. I think age appropriate answers to keep the magic alive are always good. The costs are outrageous and I am in a hole simply thinking about gifts. But magic comes free, and aking memories is really what it is all about. #ablogginggoodtime xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Lisa. The costs are definitely outrageous. Present buying is really hard too, it’s easy to get carried away. I remember Christmas time fondly as a child, I definitely want the same for my boys, we are looking forward to Nativity plays, and Christmas Carol Services at our church so that we can really encourage them in understanding the true meaning of Christmas. Thank you for reading and commenting. xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

