Starting School

I thought the Summer Holidays would seem endless this year. BB finished on the 15th July and with school not starting properly until the 12th September (he had a 1 hour session with me on the 7th!)it seemed like such a long time. The holidays are flying past, and with that, the start of big school for BB creeps ever closer. I have the uniform, it has been tried on (he looks so grown up!). I can hardly believe where the time has gone. BB will be 5 at the beginning of September. He is a baby no more.

I am a little uncertain of how he will find ‘big school’. He has definitely grown in confidence in the last 6 months, I can see such a difference in his development. He is most definitely ready for school, but from an emotional, social level, I don’t know how he will find it.

More to the point, how am I going to find it?

The school that BB is going to really eases the kids in gently, he won’t be full time until the end of September, and I get to go in with him on his first day, and I am grateful for that.

Chances are BB will be absolutely fine, and I will be a quivering wreck, whilst trying to be cool, so that none of my worry rubs off on him.

The realisation for me is that he is growing up, and suddenly all of the times when I could make sure that he was ok, and make everything better are evaporating. He is going to be in a new environment with new teachers, new friends, new things to learn, and he is going to have to deal with that himself. Thoughts of have we equipped him enough, are we teaching him the right things come into my head. I know it’s all part of growing up, and infant school is fun. I certainly have fond memories of primary school. However I also have memories of school not being so great the older I got, and kids can be really mean. I would hate BB to go through some of the things that me or J had to suffer. However I know that we cannot protect him from everything and neither should we.

Cue lots of heartfelt emotions, being teary eyed, remembering meeting BB and not really being able to contemplate that life would never be the same again, but knowing that he was such a precious gift from God.

Needless to say I will back with a full account of BB’s first day at school and how he is getting on later in September.

What are your experiences of your little ones first days at school?

The Pramshed
2 thoughts on “Starting School

Leave a Reply

