Here comes the Sun

Finally some sunny warm weather, I love it, everything feels so much better, and I feel like I can do anything. However, as soon as the sun comes out and it starts to warm up I go into a slight meltdown of realising that I am most definitely not ready for the sun!

These are the things I realise

  • I have no summer clothes ready (well I do, but they are stored under my bed). In a frenzy I madly start getting them out and trying them on in the hope that they still fit me and look fairly good.
  • I have neglected my feet, and now I really want to wear flip flops, so in a hasty moment I have to quickly paint my nails. I have actually done an ok job today, but yesterday when I had old chipped polish on, I just painted over them so I could go out. No one is going to get that close to my feet, are they?
  • I must buy some refreshing summer drinks, Pimms and the like.
  • The boys don’t have appropriate footwear or t-shirts. I was at the shops yesterday like a crazy lady looking for something. I didn’t buy anything in the end.
  • I don’t have any Factor 50 for the boys, ahhhh what if they burn, I have to use really old lotion that I find that probably doesn’t work anymore.
  • I must shave my legs and can’t reject doing it any longer.
  • I feel the need to go out every day for a picnic.
  • That the family must spend as much time as is possible outdoors before it rains again.

What things do you find that you start doing when the sun comes out?

Vicky x

Diary of an imperfect mum
5 thoughts on “Here comes the Sun

  1. Haha I understand all these!! I have a pretty organised husband so he usually has the sun lotion and stuff for the baby covered luckily so I mainly have to worry about making myself look acceptable and trying to get out the house. Although it’s been really cold and windy and wet here the last few days I think our summer ship has sailed already haha. #ablogginggoodtime

    Like

  2. Haha! Love it! This is so totally me! I would also add that I suddenly fill my freezer with IcePops and plan impromptu BBQs (by which time it has invariably started raining again!). #ablogginggoodtime

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh yes – I ticked every point on this list. We had to dash out and buy the kids clothes and the sun tan cream has turned icky. And I wouldn’t subject you to my feet. What is this with my skin too, I’m like a snake shedding everywhere – I need a good moisturise before I get anything out. Thank you for linking up to #ablogginggoodtime πŸŽ‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

